Shamanic Wisdom: Shamans Explain Shamanism A couple of modern day shamans explain what the practice of shamanism is. Trent Deerhorn of www.deerhornshamanic.com shows us his view of Shamanism, followed by Sue Moondragon. Shamanism is a practice that involves a practitioner reaching altered states of consciousness in order to perceive and interact with a spirit world and channel these transcendental energies into this world. A shaman is a person regarded as having access to, and influence in, the world of benevolent and malevolent spirits, who typically enters into a trance state during a ritual, and practices divination and healing. The word "shaman" probably originates from the Tungusic Evenki language of North Asia. According to ethnolinguist Juha Janhunen, "the word is attested in all of the Tungusic idioms" such as Negidal, Lamut, Udehe/Orochi, Nanai, Ilcha, Orok, Manchu and Ulcha, and "nothing seems to contradict the assumption that the meaning 'shaman' also derives from Proto-Tungusic" and may have roots that extend back in time at least two millennia. The term was introduced to the west after Russian forces conquered the shamanistic Khanate of Kazan in 1552. The term "shamanism" was first applied by western anthropologists to the ancient religion of the Turks and Mongols, as well as those of the neighboring Tungusic and Samoyedic-speaking peoples. Upon learning more about religious traditions across the world, some anthropologists began to also use the term to describe unrelated magico-religious practices found within the ethnic religions of other parts of Asia, Africa, Australasia and the Americas, as they believed these practices to be similar to one another. Trent Deerhorn descends from a line of mystics and healers and has worked in the field of Shamanism for over 20 years. He has received training throughout his life from many shamanic practitioners and offers services throughout Western Canada and long distance work worldwide. He is a writer and trainer and leads workshops on numerous shamanic principles and techniques including Spirit Animals, the Medicine Wheel and Shamanic Journeying. He is a storyteller, public speaker, songwriter, visionary artist, ceremonial leader and dream walker. Subscribe to this channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPi6euzgQgW8lXDLAw152Pg Shamanism - https://www.shamanism.com/ Foundation for Shamanic Studies - https://www.shamanism.org/ Could Shamanic Healing be the Answer? - http://www.prevention.com/mind-body/emotional-health/how-shamanic-healing-works Shamanic Teachers - http://www.shamanicteachers.com/ Listing of Global Shamanic Circles - http://www.shamaniccircles.org/global/listings.shtml Trent Deerhorn - http://www.deerhornshamanic.com/ Trent Deerhorn FB - https://www.facebook.com/search/more/?q=Trent+Deerhorn&init=public Sue Moondragon - http://whitesage.org/tag/sue-moondragon Sue Moondragon - https://www.linkedin.com/in/sue-moondragon-917a2736 Shamanism - http://www.crystalinks.com/shamanism.html Ancient Wisdom: Shamanism - http://www.ancient-wisdom.com/shamanism.htm Taking Charge of Your Health & Wellbeing - http://www.takingcharge.csh.umn.edu/explore-healing-practices/shamanism Ancient Tibetan Bonpo Shamanism - http://vajranatha.com/articles/traditions/bonpo.html?showall=1 Shamanism: History and Overview - http://www.arizonahealingtours.com/shamanic/SJ2.html Shamanic Meditation - http://www.omharmonics.com/blog/shamanic-meditation/ As always, use this info to gather more info.

ShamanismShamanShamanicShamanic wisdomShamanic dreamShamanic healingshamanic meditationwisdomdreammeditationTrent DeerhornSue Moondragonaltered states of consciousnessspirit worldenergiesspiritstrancedivinationhealingmysticshealerspropergandertv1shamanic circles